Search Chevron Right Chevron Right twitter facebook phone mail

Doug Hays Memorial Criminal Justice Scholarship Fund

Eligibility & Requirements

  • Must be a full-time undergraduate student at Bethany College in Lindsborg, Kansas, with a major in criminal justice
  • Must have sophomore standing and/or have completed no less than 32 cumulative credit hours
  • Minimum cumulative 2.5 GPA
  • Scholarships are awarded on the following criteria:
    • Leadership qualities
    • School, community service, civil activities and references
    • Financial need

Award Details

One scholarship will be awarded annually to be used for tuition, books or fees associated with degree completion. The scholarship is intended to be a one-time award, with no plans for renewal.

The Wichita Community Foundation is responsible for the investment, administration and governance of The Doug Hays Memorial Criminal Justice Scholarship Fund.


Scholarship disbursement will be paid directly to the selected educational institution. No outright gifts to the student recipient will be made.


The application must be electronically submitted by noon on March 31, 2021. No exceptions.


Essays (500 word limit)


Must include the following
  • Extracurricular activities you have participated in during high school, such as student government, sports, and clubs, along with offices held and any special honors you have received.
  • Community Service including services-related activities in which you have participated in the past four years
  • Work experience you have had in the past four years, including your length of employment


This scholarship is awarded based on financial need, so you’ll need to qualify and attach your FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) or SAR (Student Aid Report). FASFA is approximately 10-15 pages, while the SAR is 3-5 pages. Either submission must reflect financial information.

Back to top